CSE 438

Mobile Application Development

shopping calculator app icon
virtual pet app icon
drawing app icon
movie search app icon
Date Topic Assigned Due Slides / Videos Location
Mon Aug 28 Introduction pdf Louderman 458
Wed Aug 30 Swift pdf Louderman 458
Mon Sept 4 NO CLASS Labor Day
Wed Sept 6 Studio 1: Xcode Lab 1 Mac Lab (Whitaker 316)
Mon Sept 11 MVC and Auto Layout pdf Louderman 458
Wed Sept 13 Studio 2: Swift Lab 2 Lab 1 Mac Lab (Whitaker 316)
Mon Sept 18 Views and View Controllers pdf Louderman 458
Wed Sept 20 Custom Drawing Lab 3 Lab 2 pdf Louderman 458
Mon Sept 25 Scroll Views, Table Views and Collections pdf Louderman 458
Wed Sept 27 Local Storage and Web Services Lab 4 Lab 3 pdf mp4 Louderman 458
Mon Oct 2 Multithreading pdf mp4 Louderman 458
Wed Oct 4 Remote API's pdf mp4 Louderman 458
Mon Oct 9 Additional Swift Concepts and Maps and Location Services pdf Louderman 458
Wed Oct 11 Animations pdf Louderman 458
Mon Oct 16 NO CLASS Fall Break
Wed Oct 18 Objective-C Part I pdf Louderman 458
Mon Oct 23 Objective-C Part II Lab 4 pdf Louderman 458
Wed Oct 25 TBD pdf pdf Louderman 458
Mon Oct 30 Audio and Video pdf Louderman 458
Wed Nov 1 Design Principles pdf Louderman 458
Mon Nov 6 Final Projects Final Project pdf Louderman 458
Wed Nov 8 Project Proposals Louderman 458
Mon Nov 13 Work Day Louderman 458
Wed Nov 15 Status Updates Louderman 458
Mon Nov 20 Status Updates Mac Lab (Whitaker 316)
Wed Nov 22 NO CLASS Thanksgiving Louderman 458
Mon Nov 27 Work Day Mac Lab (Whitaker 316)
Wed Nov 29 Work Day Mac Lab (Whitaker 316)
Mon Dec 4 Final Presentations Project Louderman 458
Wed Dec 8 Final Presentations Louderman 458

TA Hours

We have a great group of TA's to help this semester. All TA hours will be held in the Mac Lab (Whitaker 316). Any changes to the hours listed here will be noted on Piazza.

Sunday
You 1:45pm - 3:45pm
Martin 4pm - 5pm
Emma 4pm - 6pm
Shitianyu 5pm - 7pm
Monday
Kaiyi 1pm - 2pm
Nathan 1:30pm - 4pm
Jack 2:15pm - 3:45pm
Xin 2:30pm - 4pm
Ray 4pm - 6pm
Nathan 5:30pm - 7pm
Martin 6pm - 8pm
Tuesday
Jarett 1pm - 3pm
Kyu Taek 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Nathan 2:30pm - 7pm
Ari 4pm - 6pm
Wednesday
Kaiyi 1pm - 2pm
Jack 2:15pm - 3:45pm
Xin 2:30pm - 4pm
Shitianyu 5pm - 7pm
Martin 7pm - 9pm
Thursday
Ke 11:30am - 1pm
Jarett 1pm - 3pm
Kyu Taek 1:30pm - 2:30pm
Jack 6pm - 8pm
Friday
Ari 1pm - 2pm
Emma 2pm - 4pm

Course Information

Learn how to create iOS apps in the Swift programming language. This course covers a variety of topics in the development of modern mobile applications, with a focus on hands-on projects. Students will create multiple fully-functional apps from scratch. The course emphasizes object-oriented design patterns and real-world development techniques. Time is provided at the end of the course for students to work on a project of their own interest.

Instructor

Todd Sproull
Jolley 536

Head TA

Nathan Gitter
Whitaker 316

Grading

Grades are assigned based on performance on the five lab projects and final project. The labs are worth 70% of the final grade, and the final project is worth 30%. The lab breakdown is listed below:

Lab 1: Shopping Calculator (50 points)
Lab 2: Virtual Pet App (75 points)
Lab 3: Drawing App (100 points)
Lab 4: Movie Search App (150 points)
Lab 5: Extension Exploration (50 points)

Collaboration Policy

For individual assignments, the code you submit must be your own. For the final project, the code must come from you or your teammates. You are allowed to use portions of code found on the Internet (as long as it is not from another CSE 438 student, past or present).

If you are using a significant amount of code from another website, be sure to include a comment in your submission with the URL to the website. Assume significant means 2 or more lines of code.

Submitting code from another student or from a previous semester is considered cheating and you will receive an F in the course. I have a zero tolerance policy towards students using code (or derived code) from another student, do not do it.